als ich wiedererwachte aus dem tod der sekunden — when I awaken from the seconds of death


Ahorn

als ich wiedererwachte aus dem tod der sekunden

26.11.2001

als ich wiedererwachte aus dem tod der sekunden
drehte der maskenbildner mir neue locken
und gab mir ein hemd mit girlanden umwunden
und zog mir über die füße gewaschene socken
goldene dolche durchteilten die nacht und durchdrangen die hüfte
und das schmerzende licht kühlte – die dunkelheit schlief
bis der hahn dreimal krähte – fest und sonderbar tief
und ich las die zeichen vom himmel und spürte die düfte
von vergangenheit und von rotem mohn auf den feldern
die hinter der straße lagen auf der ich asphalt
mit spuren versah und ich fühlte mich alt
wie ein felsbrocken hinter den wolkeneltern
und ich seufzte der maskenbildner verschwand
und ließ als maske zurück das eben noch grünende land

English by Holly Hunter
when I awaken from the seconds of death

when I awaken from the seconds of death
the artist drew me new
and gave me a shirt wreathed with garland
pulling washed socks over my feet
golden daggers split through the night and penetrated the hip
and the painful light cooled. the dark slept
until the cock crowed thrice – oddly I read
the signs of heaven strong and deep,
feeling the scents of the past red blooms
on the fields.
Asphalt lay on the road and tracks and I was feeling old
like a boulder behind parental clouds and I sighed
the makeup artist disappeared into the verdant country
and left behind a mask.

4 Antworten zu “als ich wiedererwachte aus dem tod der sekunden — when I awaken from the seconds of death

  1. Incredibly beautiful poetry and recital Bernd. I could not resist a humble effort to translate this, please forgive any mistakes, I am not, as you know, fluent in Deutsch by any means. I am overwhelmed by the beauty of this fine work.
    als ich wiedererwachte aus dem tod der sekunden
    by Bernd

    when I awaken from the seconds of death
    the artist drew me new
    and gave me a shirt wreathed with garland
    pulling washed socks over my feet
    golden daggers split through the night and penetrated the hip
    and the painful light cooled. the dark slept
    until the cock crowed thrice – oddly I read
    the signs of heaven strong and deep,
    feeling the scents of the past red blooms
    on the fields.
    Asphalt lay on the road and tracks and I was feeling old
    like a boulder behind parental clouds and I sighed
    the makeup artist disappeared into the verdant country
    and left behind a mask.

    Thank you for the beautiful words and for indulging me.
    My best!
    Holly

  2. Thank you very much for your beautiful work.
    I made this about 15 years ago and recorded it together with my nephew who made the music and composition.
    Not long after the recording a flood destroyed the microphone, it was a very good one from Neumann.

    I have some more of these sessions.
    and I made a cd.

    Later I prepared a second cd with poetry and music, the „Labum Sweet“ – playing with „Suite“.
    This is here:

    http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=1279374

  3. Thank you for the link Hutschi, I found it fascinating and lovely. Beautiful and original!

  4. You are very welcome.
    I added your translation to my poem above.
    If you like it, you can reblog it.

Kommentar verfassen

